(189/190/489 Visa)

This online skilled visa points check is a quick way to calculate your likely score in the Skilled Migration Points test in 2019. If you’re looking into applying for a skilled migrant visa Australia, this is the best place to start. The skilled migrant visa category includes the independent visa subclass 189, the nominated visa subclass 190 and the regional subclass 489. If you want to live and work in Australia as a permanent resident, one of these three Australian visas is your best bet – as long as you have the skills outlined in the department of home affairs’ skilled occupations list. Find out more in our blog about the skilled migrant visa Australia program.

Your skilled visa points are based on a number of factors, including:

  • An official skills assessment for your nominated occupation
  • A relevant diploma or trade qualification
  • Your work experience
  • Competent English language ability.

Depending on the visa subclass for which you submit an expression of interest, you may also need nomination by a state or territory government.

You need to score a minimum of 65 points on the skilled visa points test (as of 1 July 2018), however that’s not always enough to be invited to apply by the Australian government. Book a consultation with one of our experienced immigration lawyers for a detailed assessment to increase your chances of success. As a law firm Sydney residents can trust, you can rest assured you’re in good hands with Owen Hodge Lawyers.

"skilled visa points" on a closeup of a man's hand signing an application

Head to the Owen Hodge blog if you want to learn more. We explain legal jargon, like conveyancer vs solicitor and barrister vs solicitor, as well as discuss things like, if you resign what are you entitled to and ‘pain and suffering’ compensation payout amounts. Browse our blog pages today.

How can we help?

Fill out the form below and we’ll get in touch with you to discuss how we can help